From Tokyo To Los Angeles- Meet Chiyuki.

If you were to run into her on Colorado Bvld., she would give you a gentle smile and a delicate “Hello.” but behind the chair, she is creating some of the most badass work in the industry.

 

Our new girl on the block, meet Chiyuki.

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 8.13.41 PM.png

 

Chiyuki was born and raised in Japan & graduated from Tamagawa University in Tokyo  for International Economy. Like most hairdressers, she questioned her career choice. “I was always thinking about becoming a hairstylist, but I always had the doubt in the back of my mind. ‘No, No, No. You can’t do this.’” After Chiyuki graduated University, she came to her fork in the road; Do I stick with what I studied in University or do I follow my heart and do hair? “I always thought ‘Is it too late?’ because the majority of hairdressers go straight to hair school right out of high school.” Chiyuki sat down with her parents to tell them her dilemma, and they encouraged her to do what made her happy. She told herself ‘it’s never too late’. A weight was lifted off her shoulders; from that moment on, it was all about hair.

Chiyuki started at her cosmetology school while assisting a small hair salon located in Yokohama, Japan. At this salon, she became an expert in extensions, braids, & dreadlocks. After  3 years, Chiyuki decided to move to a bigger salon, right in Tokyo, where she was educated on Sassoon-style cutting. She worked there for 7 years but always felt like her heart was in Los Angeles. “I always loved the culture of the United States, I used to visit Los Angeles to see my mom’s best friend. I always loved the style of the city.”
With nothing holding her back from her passion in hair, Chiyuki decided to move to United States.

I had to ask her why. Why leave all that you know; your family, your friends, the life that you’ve built in Japan to come to a foreign place like Los Angeles? With both cities being staples of the world, why leave one to go to another? Her answer was simply- Creative Freedom.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

She told me that in Japan, the clients like to stick to a status quo. “So for example, if I recommended a hairstyle that was out of the status quo, the client would second guess it; ‘Is this too much for me?’ I would always try to stress to them, “Be unique!” but in Japan, some of the hair that I like to create is out of most clients comfort zones.” In the United States, we love to be unique with our hair. Adding our personality to our tresses is something we have loved for years. (remember the iconic feather extensions?) In Japan, hair is extremely detailed and precise. “There are so many extremely talented hairstylists in Japan & I learned so much, but wanted to give more unique hair. I can be more creative here.” Chiyuki told me with a huge smile. “When I visited LA, I saw so many people that were unique. They knew what they liked.”

 

“Its not only about hair. When I’m doing my clients hair, that is the closest I can get to them. I am kind of shy, but when I’m doing hair, I can touch them, and I feel like I’m becoming close to them. A mutual trust. When I’m finished and they look happy, that is the most amazing feeling to me.” -Chiyuki Furuta

 

 

Sometimes your passion can take you places you’d never think you’d end up- like half way across the world for Chiyuki. We are more than excited to have her on our team.

 

@Salon_Sessions | #SalonSessions

Leave a comment